Header Ads


Bayelsans in perpetual jubilation over INEC declaration of APC Candidate Governor-Elect

  Perpetual jubilation is going on at the nooks and crannies of Bayelsa state as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) Candidate, Chief David Lyon the winner of the last Saturday’s Governorship election in Bayelsa State.
Mahmood Yakubu, INEC Chairman

  Describing the election as most peaceful in the state since the returned to civil rule in 1999, the people thanked the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for conducting free, fair and credible election and urged the commission to sustain the tempo.
  Announcing the result at the Prof. Mahmood Yakubu Media Centre, INEC Office, in Yenagoa.the Returning Officer for the election and Vice Chancellor of the University of Benin, Prof. Faraday Orumwense, said Lyon polled 352,552 to defeat other candidates, including his closest rival, Senator Douye Diri who polled 143,172. 
Bayelsa Election 2019
From Left is Senator Biobarakuma Degi, Deputy Governor-Elect and Chief David Lyon, APC Governor-Elect to succeed Governor Dickson in Jubilation.

  He said that the total number of registered voters was 922,562, while number of accredited voters was 517,883. Total Votes Cast was 505,884, while total valid votes were 499,551.
   Declaring the winner, Prof. Orumwense said that “David Lyon, having satisfied the requirement of the law is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”
    It was early this morning, he was declared Bayelsa State governor-elect by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).
  He is now Governor Henry Seriake Dickson’s successor who ruled the state for about 8 years from 2012 till date. He won in six local government areas while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Senator Douye Diri Diri  won in Sagbama, Governor Dickson’s home local government where he scored 60,339 votes and David Lyon’s 7,831 votes.
  He also won in his Kolokuma-Opokuma Local Government scoring 15,360 votes against Lyon, who polled 8,934 votes.
   But the APC candidate sweep the poll in six local government areas including in Nembe , he won by a landslide scoring 83,041 votes to beat his PDP’s counterpart who got only 874 votes.
   Minister of State Petroleum and former Governor Timipre Sylva, delivered his Brass Local Government Area to Lyon. The APC candidate polled 23,831 votes to defeat Diri, who scored 10, 410 votes.
  The APC candidate also won in State capital Yenagoa Local Government, scoring 24,607 to Diri’s 19,184 votes.
   The APC  candidate won Ogbia, the Local with a wide margin. Lyon trounced Diri with 58,016 votes to 13,763 votes.
   In his home Southern Ijaw Local Government , the APC candidate floored his opponent with a massive 124,803 votes to 4,898 votes.
   In Ekeremor, Lyon polled 21,489 while Diri gathered 18,344 votes.

No comments